NOTICE: This site has gone though an upgrade and as part of the update your password will not work. You will need to use the "I forgot my password" option to have an email sent with recovery instructions. Once this has been completed and your password is updated you will be able to login. We apologize for the inconvenience however it was necessary to keep code up to date and your account safe.

-Admin

Multipower

Let's talk about the very awesome BASH!
Post Reply
User avatar
AngryGhost
Hero
Hero
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Multipower

Post by AngryGhost »

If you use another power in a multipower, the one you are using ends.

I.e Flight is in a multipower with Invisibilty. If you use Invisibility whilst flying, you start to fall.

However,

For non maintained/sustained powers, such as Damage Field, which have effects that last X turns after the power has been used, then the power has ended but the effects are felt for a time afterwards. Can we presume that if you then use another power within the multipower, that the effects of the first power (note not the actual power) are still active?
Remember, the Force will be with you. Sometimes.

MeetsInTaverns/Cowboy Hat/Angry Ghost
User avatar
Saker
Paragon
Paragon
Posts: 743
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Montreal

Post by Saker »

nope. ends.

If the multipower is switched, the first power is off
[b][url=http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/7264/skymarshall.png]The Sky Marshall[/url][/b]
User avatar
BASHMAN
All-Father of Bash!
All-Father of Bash!
Posts: 2528
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:00 pm

Post by BASHMAN »

Saker wrote:nope. ends.

If the multipower is switched, the first power is off
Agreed. Otherwise, you are not "paying the price" for having a Multi-Power instead of a second separate power. There is a benefit to buying your powers separately.
Chris Rutkowsky
[url=http://www.bashrpg.com]Basic Action Games[/url]
Now on [url=http://www.facebook.com/pages/Basic-Action-Games/89564587837?ref=ts]Facebook![/url]
User avatar
AngryGhost
Hero
Hero
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by AngryGhost »

Will take Summoning out then...

Follow up question:

If I use Damage Field in a multipower can I use it the next page and keep its effects from the previous page? - specifically, if I have DF 4, I can create 4 zones that last 3 pages. The next page I should have 4 zones still lasting 2 pages with the ability to cast another 4 zones lasting for 3 pages - total 8 zones.

Asking because it really isn't a different power, it is indeed the same one being used.
Remember, the Force will be with you. Sometimes.

MeetsInTaverns/Cowboy Hat/Angry Ghost
User avatar
srpyle_1970
Unknown Quantity
Unknown Quantity
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 12:00 am
Location: Steel City
Contact:

Post by srpyle_1970 »

I have another multi-power question, can you have more than two powers in a multi-power? just paying the additional 1 or 2 pts. each time?

Thanks!
\"Your hunger for battle is a disease -- and the hammer of Thor shall supply the cure!\" (Thor finally fed up with Hercules, who is trying to prolong their grudge-match that Thor isn\'t interested in -- \"Whom the Gods Would Destroy!\"
User avatar
MrJupiter
Cosmic Hero
Cosmic Hero
Posts: 1491
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Trenton, Ont. (Canada)

Post by MrJupiter »

AngryGhost wrote:Will take Summoning out then...

Follow up question:

If I use Damage Field in a multipower can I use it the next page and keep its effects from the previous page? - specifically, if I have DF 4, I can create 4 zones that last 3 pages. The next page I should have 4 zones still lasting 2 pages with the ability to cast another 4 zones lasting for 3 pages - total 8 zones.

Asking because it really isn't a different power, it is indeed the same one being used.
It isn’t specifically mentioned but I would say that it is in bad form to have a character that continues spewing out new damage fields every page, while older ones continue to ‘burn’. In the rules it does say, “The number of zones you can create is equal to your level in Damage Field.” A rank of 4 in this power could have 4 zones. When one or more of your Damage Fields ends after their 3rd page then the character can create another. I’d also allow a character to voluntarily cancel one or more of them early to start fresh new ones at the start of a new page. But that would only be logical for certain characters (like Marvel’s PYRO, who could simply wink out his fires with but a thought).
srpyle_1970 wrote:I have another multi-power question, can you have more than two powers in a multi-power? just paying the additional 1 or 2 pts. each time?

Thanks!
Yes. You could easily build a multi-power with 10 or more powers (assuming that you had the Character Points to spare), but they would all be subject to the one power use at a time rule.
User avatar
BASHMAN
All-Father of Bash!
All-Father of Bash!
Posts: 2528
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:00 pm

Post by BASHMAN »

If you have a multi-power and you use one power that lasts several pages, and then activate another power in the multi-power, the ongoing effect immediately ends.

Regarding multi-powers, though, you could have 10 powers in a multi-power, no problem, so long as you use them only 1 at a time.
Chris Rutkowsky
[url=http://www.bashrpg.com]Basic Action Games[/url]
Now on [url=http://www.facebook.com/pages/Basic-Action-Games/89564587837?ref=ts]Facebook![/url]
User avatar
kevperrine
Paragon
Paragon
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Detroit, MI

Post by kevperrine »

BASHMAN wrote:Regarding multi-powers, though, you could have 10 powers in a multi-power, no problem, so long as you use them only 1 at a time.

Can you have several different powers all LINKED? Or just one linked to another (2 total)?
User avatar
BASHMAN
All-Father of Bash!
All-Father of Bash!
Posts: 2528
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:00 pm

Post by BASHMAN »

Two powers can only ever be linked. However, you can have several Linked powers inside a Multi-Power.

So you could have Immobilization [Linked w/ Special Attack], Immobilization [Linked w/ Daze], Confusion [Linked w/ continual damage] all in the same multi-power.
Chris Rutkowsky
[url=http://www.bashrpg.com]Basic Action Games[/url]
Now on [url=http://www.facebook.com/pages/Basic-Action-Games/89564587837?ref=ts]Facebook![/url]
User avatar
ryeowl
Unknown Quantity
Unknown Quantity
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 12:00 am
Location: New York
Contact:

Post by ryeowl »

So you can have a Multi-Power with two variants of the same power?

Example: Teleportation (Gateway) 5, Teleportation 1 [Limitation: Shadows] and Clinging 1
User avatar
BASHMAN
All-Father of Bash!
All-Father of Bash!
Posts: 2528
Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2010 11:00 pm

Post by BASHMAN »

ryeowl wrote:So you can have a Multi-Power with two variants of the same power?

Example: Teleportation (Gateway) 5, Teleportation 1 [Limitation: Shadows] and Clinging 1
You could. But in this case you'd need to ask yourself why the character would use the shadow port ability over the gateway ability. If Gateway had some other Limitation on it in this case, like Concentration, I can see why the other one would get used.
Chris Rutkowsky
[url=http://www.bashrpg.com]Basic Action Games[/url]
Now on [url=http://www.facebook.com/pages/Basic-Action-Games/89564587837?ref=ts]Facebook![/url]
Post Reply