Welcome to BASH! - Basic Action Superheroes
Honor + Intrigue!!  Cinematic Swashbuckling Rolepaying Game
  Login or Register
::  Home  ::  Your Account  ::  Forums  ::
   
Menu
 
Site Information
Your IP: 54.80.169.119

Welcome, Anonymous
Nickname
Password

· Register
· Lost Password
Server Date/Time
20 November 2017 07:38:36 UTC (GMT +0)
 
BASH! - Basic Action Superheroes: Forums

BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes :: View topic - Summoning Questions

 
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups      RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Summoning Questions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes Forum Index -> BASH Ultimate Edition Rules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DevastatingWeakness
Sidekick
Sidekick


Joined: Sep 16, 2016
Posts: 42


PostPosted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:09 pm    Post subject: Summoning Questions Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a player wanting to play a summoner, but I'm a bit uncertain how the Summoning power is intended to work. I think it's meant to work like so:

On turn 1, our Summoner concentrates (becasue it's a Concentration power) and drops to last priority on the page. He then summons his choice of a set of 1, 2, 3 or 6 creatures.

On subsequent turns he can either attack as himself, or he can cause his summoned creatures to attack.

My questions are:

Do you only have to Concentrate on a turn when you Summon critters, or do you have to also concentrate during a turn when you use your critters to attack?

On turn 2, can he concentrate and use Summon again to get an additional set of creatures? Or is he only allowed to have the original set (at least until that set of creatures is destroyed)?

If he can summon more than one set of summoned creatures, when he chooses to have the summoned creatures act in a turn (instead acting as himself), does each set of creatures get to attack?

Only the summoner or the summoned critters can attack in a turn. But can both the Summoner and the critters do non-combat actions (like moving, activating non-combat powers, etc.), or is it strictly only one acts or the other?

As an example:
Turn 1: Summoner concentrates, and summons a set of three critters.
Turn 2: Summoner has the critters make an attack. He cannot make an attack himself this turn, because the critters attacked.
Turn 3: Summon makes an attack. he cannot have his critters make an attack this turn.
Turn 4: Summoner concentrates, and summons a second set of three critters.
Turn 5: Summoner has set 1 and set 2 each make an attack.

Is that the way the rules are intended to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Sijo
Hero
Hero


Joined: Aug 02, 2012
Posts: 324
Location: Puerto Rico

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Krypton, nice to see you again!

Now I cannot give you the official answer, but from what I can interpret from the book: the maximum number of creatures summoned is six. This is because the more minions, the less Hits they have and the minimum number they can have is 10. So the summoner cannot summon any more until they are destroyed or he sends them back. (What if a few are destroyed, can he replace them? Well, I would allow it, but it would require another full turn of Concentration.)

As for actions, the description does mention they can move but not act simultaneously (unless they have super speed). If this were limited only to attack actions I think it would be mentioned. The whole thing sounds as if the Summoner were a puppeteer who must focus on his minions for them to act.

Still, Summoning is a great power: make sure to keep some critters between you and your foes and send the rest to attack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MrJupiter
Cosmic Hero
Cosmic Hero


Joined: Apr 06, 2010
Posts: 1442
Location: Trenton, Ont. (Canada)

PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sijo wrote:
...Still, Summoning is a great power: make sure to keep some critters between you and your foes and send the rest to attack.

Yes, great advice, Sijo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    BASH - Basic Action Super Heroes Forum Index -> BASH Ultimate Edition Rules All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1
  
  

Jump to:   

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001 phpBB Group

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.


The comments are property of their posters, all the rest © 2010 by Basic Action Games.




(Original PHP-Nuke Code Copyright © 2004 by Francisco Burzi)
Page Generation: 0.09 Seconds
:: BASH! style by Basic Action Games ::